Rainbow entries open

Entries for the third round of the BFGoodrich Motorsport Australia Off Road Championship (AORC), the Hindmarsh Shire Rainbow Desert Enduro, are now being accepted.

Taking place at the end of next month, the Victorian event will see AORC crews from around the country tackle 560 competitive kilometres across a mix of terrain including mud, grass and dirt.

Having last run as a shortened event in 2019, the Victorian Off Road Racing Association (VORRA) organised round will return to its traditional longer formation, with seven laps of the 87km course.

Interested crews have until 11:59pm AEST on Friday 13 August to enter the event, with early bird entries to close on Friday 30 July.

Click here to enter the Rainbow Desert Enduro. 

Starting with Prologue on the Saturday morning, event organisers will once again have a top-10 shootout to determine the final start order for the fastest 10 crews.

Crews will then complete two laps during the first section on Saturday afternoon, before running the remaining five laps in one endurance section on Sunday, which includes two compulsory 30-minute service breaks.

The popular Victorian event will also be hosting several other competitions, such as the second round of the Motorsport Australia Victorian Off Road Championship, the fourth round of the Victorian Off Road Club Shield and the third round of the VORRA Club Championship.

Click here to read the Supplementary Regulations.  

After two rounds, New South Welshmen Josh Howells and Eric Hume lead the AORC standings after winning St George and coming second at the Tatts Finke Desert Race.

West Australian star Beau Robinson and his navigator in Shane Hutt sit second on the standings, while 2019 Rainbow winner Greg Gartner and Jamie Jennings sit just a further two and half points behind in third.

The 2021 Hindmarsh Shire Rainbow Desert Enduro is the third round of the BFGoodrich Motorsport Australia Off Road Championship and takes place in Rainbow on 27-29 August.

Photo: Show N Go Photography