Whateley, Rentsch neck and neck in pointscore

South Australian young gun Toby Whateley holds a slim two-point lead ahead of eight-time Australian Off Road Champion Shannon Rentsch in the BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship.

The BFGoodrich CAMS AORC points after round one at the St George 399 can be viewed here.

Whateley’s consistency over the three sections at the St George 399 was rewarded, his wins on section one and two giving him the advantage over outright winner Rentsch, who won section three but was placed fourth and second in sections one and two respectively.

At an event suited to the nimble SXS Turbo class, Phil Lovett was another standout performance and was rewarded, sitting third in the outright championship points table.

Team Taylor made a great start to their 40th year of racing, with Ryan and Neville Taylor sitting in fourth and another SXS Turbo pilot Jeff McNiven holds down fifth.

In the class championships, Shannon Rentsch leads Ryan Taylor and Rob Turner in the Pro Buggy class and Chris Browning and Chris Clarke made a perfect start to their Prolite title defence, leading Alan Dixon and Ally Howells.

Reigning Extreme 4WD Class Champions Paul and Michelle Malt lead their class after round one and Geoff Pickering and Dylan Watson are on track to claim their 13thProduction 4WD class championship.

In the SXS classes, Toby Whateley leads Phil Lovett and Craig McDonald in the Turbos and Zachery Marsh is top of the table in the SXS Sport class, ahead of Rick Chambers and Brad Geraghty.

Round two of the BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship will take place at the famed Tatts Finke Desert Race, on June 8–11.