State News: Martin shines in Milbrodale classic

Reigning BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Champion Matt Martin has returned to his brilliant 2017 form to take out the annual Milbrodale Mountain Classic Off Road Racing Event.

Hosted by the Hunter Valley Off Road Racing Association, more than 50 local and interstate competitors took part in the prestigious off road event.

From the start, Martin was in front and after the first heat, had already built a solid lead to just under a minute ahead of Mat Huxley, before using the next two heats to go further in front.

Huxley was able to stay in touch though, coming second in every heat, before falling short of winning his first heat after Michael Denham, who eventually finished third outright, won the fourth and final heat.

Both Huxley and Denham also won their respective classes in the Pro buggy and Extreme 2WD classes respectively, while Denham was also awarded the Tin Top Award.

In other classes, Richard Wilton won the Super 1650 Buggy award while finishing seventh outright, Joshua Nurrish claimed ninth outright along with the Extreme 4WD class, Gavin Sheppard took out the Sportsman Buggy class, Drew Corcoran the Production 4WD class and Greg Barron the Sportsman Buggy class.

The entertaining SXS battles saw Kevin Cant win the Sports class and Glen Ackroyd win the Turbo class, while Martin won the Prolite buggy class with navigator Kerry Martin who also was awarded the best female navigator, an award shared with Jessica Denham.

Claiming the fastest lap time on the longest course, Justin Guy was awarded the coveted ‘Man of the Mountain’ award, while Kristy Hedley won the Best Female Driver.

Other accolades to be presented were the Nigel Beeston Memorial Award to Rikki Headley and the best-presented vehicle, which was given Joshua Nurrish.

The Milbrodale Mountain Classic Off Road Racing Event was the third round of the CAMS NSW Off Road Championship, Round 1 of the Premier NSW Long Course Championship and Round 2 of the East Coast Tri Challenge.

For more information on the event, click here.