Off Road Cleans Up At CAMS WA Awards

The West Australian off road community cleaned up at the 2017 CAMS West Australian State Awards evening, held over the weekend in Perth.

Along with the celebration of the outright and class winners in the Carnarvon Motel Western Australian Off Road Racing Championship, there were a number of special awards presented to the off road community.

The Carnarvon Motel Three Springs 360 event won the CAMS State Event of the Year for the second year running. Event organiser Jeremy Beck identified the team effort of people from all of the clubs as being part of what makes this event special. Beck also paid tribute to the people of Three Springs and the competitors who last year endured one of the wettest events on record.

Mathew Beck was the next big winner, taking out the Burson Auto Parts Future Star award. The award capped off what has been a great debut season for himself personally and also the WA Off Road Junior Development Program. The youngster also took home the Performance 2WD class championship for drivers.

Hugh Piercy, outgoing WA Off Road Panel Chair, was recognised for his service to the sport and Peter Barrett from the Carnarvon Motel was on hand to present a large cheque to the four WA off road clubs for the 2018 season sponsorship.

2017 CAMS, Carnarvon Motel Western Australian Off Road Racing Championship
1st Outright Winner – Driver: Jared Percival
1st Outright Winner – Co-Driver: Michael Davis
2nd Outright Winner – Driver: Malcolm Yeardley
2nd Outright Winner – Co-Driver: Sam Cramer
3rd Outright Winner – Driver: Mark Cramer
3rd Outright Winner – Co-Driver: Peter Doney

Driver – Pro Buggy Winner: Mark Cramer
Co-Driver – Pro Buggy Winner: Sam Cramer

Driver – Pro Lite Buggy Winner: Malcolm Yeardley
Co-Driver – Pro Lite Buggy Winner: Michael Davis

Driver – Super 1650 Buggy Winner: John Flynn
Co-Driver – Super 1650 Buggy Winner: Gary Howe

Driver – Extreme 2WD Winner: Colin Doney
Co-Driver – Extreme 2WD Winner: Peter Doney

Driver – Performance 2WD Winner: Mathew Beck
Co-Driver – Performance 2WD Winner: Jeremy Beck

Driver – Superlite A Winner: Mark Wainwright
Driver – Superlite B Winner: Ashley Sudholz

Co-Driver – Superlite B Winner: Nick Scolaro

Driver – Production 4WD: Graeme Bentink
Co-Driver – Production 4WD: Andrew Kingscott

Driver – Extreme 4WD Winner: Mark Murray
Co-Driver – Extreme 4WD Winner: Jim Ingham

Driver – Sportslite Winner: Peter Barrett
Co-Driver – Sportslite Winner: Craig Carson

Certificate of Appreciation
Hugh Piercy: Service as Chair of the Off Road Panel

2017 CAMS WA Annual Awards 
CAMS State Event of the Year: The Carnarvon Motel Three Springs 360
Burson Auto Parts CAMS Future Star Award: Mathew Beck