More stars align for round two

With just a week to go until entries for the 2022 Coomealla Memorial Club and Bendigo Bank Pooncarie Desert Dash close, the list of crews entered is shaping up nicely.

More than 50 crews have booked their spot for the second round of the BFGoodrich Motorsport Australia Off Road Championship (AORC) season with many of the sport’s biggest names part of the latest set of inclusions.

Headlining the most recent update is current championship leaders Josh Howells and Eric Hume – the duo also joined by their Howells Motorsport teammates Ally Howells and Sarah Corrigan.

Just like many others entered, Pooncarie will be a completely new event for the Howells, but it was a challenge that Ally herself was looking forward to.

“It will be completely new,” Ally added.

“We have not been there before but we have heard that it’s very sandy and tough on the cars.”

Ally Howells in action during the St George 399. (Photo: Terry Hill Photography)

The battle at the top of the field also welcomed another top contender during the latest intake of entries with nine-time AORC champions Shannon Rentsch and Ian Rentsch hoping to back up their St George podium in their first run at the event in a few years.

“We raced there once a long time ago,” Rentsch said,

“We have always liked it up there in Mildura. It’s very open and should be a good track and we look forward to it.”

Click here to see the current entry list.

Other notable entries returning for the second time this year include Toby Whateley, current Kincrome SXS Motorsport Australia SXS Championship leader Phill Lovett, all three drivers from the Evans clan in Simon, Jackson and Edan and Queensland ace Brett Comiskey.

After a breakthrough performance in St George, Jake Swinglehurst is also entered, however his brother Tom is yet to enter meaning the team’s second Pro Buggy may not be ready as of yet.

Out of the 53 entered crews, there are also a few names that will be making their first appearances for the year including Tony Whateley and Jeff McNiven – both of which will be entered in the Kincrome SXS Motorsport Australia SXS Championship.

It will be a welcome return for McNiven, who missed out on St Geroge as a result of not being able to heal in time from his shoulder surgery.

One of the major inclusions to Pooncarie is the grand return of 2018 Pro-Lite class champions Alan Dixon and John O’Connor – their last appearance in the AORC being the 2019 Cobb & Co Hotel St George 399.

Entries for the event close at 5pm AEST on Friday 29 April and crews can enter here.

The 2022 Coomealla Memorial Club and Bendigo Bank Pooncarie Desert Dash takes place in Pooncarie on 6-8 May.