Kalgoorlie ready for thrilling AORC finale

A bumper entry list has been confirmed for the BFGoodrich Motorsport Australia Off Road Championship’s (AORC) season finale, with 93 crews entered in the Black Diamond Drilling Kalgoorlie Desert Race.

There is plenty of talent spread across all 11 classes with a number of minor battles expected to take place throughout the weekend.

Despite these battles, many eyes will be fixed mainly on just two crews with the championship experiencing one of its closest title fights in recent times.

Sitting on top of the summit is Jake Swinglehurst, who alongside sister and navigator Kate, holds a small lead over Ryan Taylor heading into the final.

Both Swinglehurst and Taylor have been the two front-runners for almost the whole season.

Swinglehurst’s consistency a just reward for his position on top, while three podiums to Taylor makes him a worthy contender for the title – however the Queenslander may rue a disappointing result in Finke.

From the two Pro Buggy contenders to the Trophy Truck guns, Brett Comiskey and Brent Smoothy, who also remain within reach of the title as a result of Kalgoorlie offering points and a half.

The quartet headline the regular all-star AORC cast making their way out west that include the likes of Mel Brandle, Garry Turnbull, Greg Gartner, Geoff Pickering, Justin Montesalvo and Warren Luff.

Of course, with Kalgoorlie already being extremely popular amongst Western Australian off roaders, there is a large contingent of high-profile locals entered.

The grand return of Beau Robinson and the in-form Shane Elphinstone headline the list of potential victors – with both drivers having won at this event in previous years when it was run as a state-only race.

There are also drivers who haven’t had the chance to go up against the best in the country with Adam Trewhella, Stephen Ketteridge-Hall and Troy Schoen among those capable of causing an upset, as well as claiming a win in the Motorsport Australia WA Off Road Championship.

There is just as much star power entered in the KINCROME SXS Motorsport Australia Championship, which also sees an intriguing title fight.

Four drivers are truly in contention for top honours.

Just seven and half points separate James Cook, Glen Ackroyd, Greg Campbell and Glenn Brinkman – and with all four having little to no experience in Western Australia, there is no telling who could win the SXS title.

Click here to see the entry list.

The Black Diamond Drilling Kalgoorlie Desert Race takes place in Kalgoorlie, Western Australia on 21-23 October.