Five rounds for AORC in 2020

The BFGoodrich Motorsport Australia Off Road Championship will extend its season in 2020, with two extra events joining the three established national rounds. 

With CAMS rebranding to Motorsport Australia on 1 January, the Championship will also take on a slightly different name and logo in 2020, to be known officially as the Motorsport Australia Off Road Championship (AORC).

The Can-Am Loveday 400 in South Australia and the Kalgoorlie Desert Race in Western Australia will become national events in 2020, building on their success as state level events.

Both events have significantly grown in the previous years and have gained a popular following from competitors, officials and the general public making them worthy of joining the national championship.

Five states will now be part of the new-look Championship, with South Australia and Western Australia joining the already featured Victoria, Queensland and Northern Territory for 2020. 

Like the previous two AORC seasons, the championship will head north for the season opener with Cobb & Co Hotel St George 399 taking place on 3-5 April.

Crews will then have nine weeks to prepare for the season’ biggest event with the Tatts Finke Desert Race to once again run over the Queen’s Birthday long weekend on 5-8 June.

The Championship then heads to the Loveday 4×4 Adventure park in South Australia on 10-12 July giving crews a solid five week window between races.

After the halfway point of the season, the Hindmarsh Shire Desert Race is up next with the Victorian Off Road Racing Association opting to shift the dates to two weeks later.

The decision to delay the round came after two of the previous three years were marred by poor weather conditions. The new dates see the Victorian round now run on 28-30 August.

The final round in 2020 will see AORC crews travel to the Western Australia to compete in Kalgoorlie on 23-25 October, giving crews two months to prepare for the season finale.

Photo: Peregrine Precision Aerial Photography

CAMS Director of Motor Sport & Commercial Operations Mike Smith said the expanded Championship highlighted the strength of off road racing in Australia.

“A five round season is a fantastic result for the AORC and all our competitors, teams, event organisers and fans,” Smith said.

“We were really impressed with the Kalgoorlie Desert Race and how much support it received from the local community this year and at previous events. It was an obvious choice to have it included on the national calendar.

“As for the Loveday 400, we’re really thrilled to have it join the national calendar as it’s a really tough event and is quite popular within South Australia. 

“With these two new additions to the Championship, it means we cover off five states around the country so we’re really excited for what is in store for off road racing in 2020 and beyond.”

The 2020 BFGoodrich Motorsport Australia Off Road Championship will see 2019 champions Mark and Matt Burrows begin their title defence at the Cobb & Co Hotel St George 399 on 3-5 April, 2020. 

2020 BFGoodrich Motorsport Australia Off Road Championship Schedule

Round 1 – Cobb & Co Hotel St George 399 
3-5 April
St George, Queensland

Round 2 – Tatts Finke Desert Race

5-8 June
Alice Springs, Northern Territory

Round 3 – Can-Am Loveday 400*

10-12 July
Loveday, South Australia

Round 4 – Hindmarsh Shire Rainbow Desert Enduro

28-30 August
Rainbow, Victoria

Round 5 – Kalgoorlie Desert Race*
23-25 October
Kalgoorlie, Western Australia

*Subject to finalisation of commercial agreement