Entries confirmed for challenging Rainbow Enduro

This weekend’s Hindmarsh Shire Rainbow Desert Enduro will welcome 44 teams, all set to tackle the challenging 75-kilometre course in the north-west Victorian town of Rainbow.

See the Hindmarsh Shire Rainbow Desert Enduro Entry List.

The event will host the final rounds of both the BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship and the Victorian Off Road Championship, with competitors embarking on more than 500 kilometres and 380 kilometres of competition respectively across two days of racing.

With championship honours up for grabs, the battles for outright and class titles will be spirited.

While Shannon and Ian Rentsch have the upper hand in the outright championship, they still have a battle on their hands in the Pro Buggy class standings, with young-gun Josh Howells nipping at their heels.

The battle for the Prolite class title will be a highlight, with just eight points separating the Money Box Racing crew of Alan Dixon and Johnny O’Connor and Howells Motorsport’s Ally Howells and Sean Marsden.

South Australia’s Toby Whateley and Simon Herrmann hold a commanding lead in the SXS Turbo class but will need to outlast the pack on their tail – just 69 points separates second through to fifth in the class championship pointscore.

In SXS Sport Rick Chambers holds all the cards at the moment but Zachary Marsh, Tara Czislowski and Brad Geraghty are all within striking distance and wonโ€™t go down without a fight.

In Production 4WD Geoff Pickering is out to cement his 13th class title and the Extreme 2WD class is there for the taking for Brett Taylor and Justin Watt, with points leader David Fellows a non-starter.

Supported by Hindmarsh Shire, Victorian Government, Graincorp and the West Wimmera Health Service, the Rainbow Desert Enduro will kick off on Friday afternoon with scrutineering taking place in Rainbowโ€™s main street from 3:30pm. There will be plenty of entertainment for fans including a collectable and race car display, jumping castle for the kids, music and fire drums to keep warm. On-track action starts at 9am Saturday with prologue, followed by racing on Saturday afternoon and Sunday morning.