Destination Finke next on AORC Calendar

After an exciting start to the 2022 season, the BFGoodrich Motorsport Australia Off Road Championship (AORC) heads to Australia’s red centre for the biggest off road event on the calendar.

It’s been a whirlwind two years for the Tatts Finke Desert Race, however with borders well and truly open, the off road community will be itching to get back to Alice Springs once again.

As usual, a full entry list is locked in to compete in the third round of the AORC season with 165 crews ready to lock horns in a bid to claim the famous King/Queen of the Desert honour.

Leading the AORC charge for the four-day event is current championship leader Ryan Taylor.

The Queenslander has enjoyed a stellar start to the 2022 season having claimed a maiden podium and victory in the opening two rounds, which has resulted in him now leading the championship – another first for him.

Click here to view the AORC Standings after two rounds.

Photos: Terry Hill Photography

His next “first” to tick off the bucket list will be to win the prestigious event and Taylor was excited to get there.

“Finke is one of our favourites,” Taylor said.

“We’re looking forward to getting back out there.

“This car is awesome at Finke. In the past we’ve been let down by qualifying so just copping that early dust.

“So we are working on our qualifying and hopefully a better result than previous.”

Of course there are plenty of obstacles standing between Taylor and a dream run of winning the famous race with the most obvious being the large pool of talented drivers also entered in the event.

From those fortunate enough to have won in the past, to those still searching for their first victory- the list of potential winners is endless.

Headlining the field of previous winners is reigning champion Toby Price, the New South Welshman broke the duck last year after years of coming ever so close.

In addition to the ever-popular Price is six-time winner Shannon Rentsch, five-time winner David Fellows, Glenn Owen and Greg Gartner. All have tasted victory in Alice Springs before; all would be keen to experience it again.

Outside of the previous victors, the drivers searching for their maiden win are just as strong.

Josh Howells, Matt Hanson, Shane Elphinstone, Paul Weel, Garry Turnbull, Toby Whateley and Beau Robinson make up the pool – the latter of which has stood on the podium in four of the past six events, yet never on the top step.

The KINCROME SXS Motorsport Australia Championship is also looking stronger than ever with a massive field of 69 crews entered in the event, including championship leader Greg Campbell and the returning Jeff McNiven.

Click here to view the entry list.

As for the schedule, event organisers have chosen to stick with the winning formula that has proved successful in recent years.

The event kicks off on Thursday with the famous Street Party and Night Markets taking over Todd Mall, before the official business begins on Friday with Scrutineering at the Start/Finish line.

On Saturday morning, the on track action gets underway with the Method Race Wheels Prologue, which sets up the start order for Sunday morning’s Race Day 1 at 8am local time.

The first leg of the race sees crews travel 224 competitive kilometres down the challenging multi-terrain desert course to arrive at Aputula (Finke) later on Sunday morning.

On Monday morning at 7:45am ACST, they do it all over again, this time back towards Alice Springs where a King or Queen will once again be crowned at the Start/Finish Line.

Click here to purchase tickets.

Fans unable to attend the race will be able to tune into the Finke Live Stream via YouTube on both Sunday and Monday, while a special extended highlights package will screen on the Seven Network in the weeks following on both 7mate and 7plus.

The 2022 Tatts Finke Desert Race takes place in Alice Springs and Aputula on 10-13 June.