2017 BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship: all the winners

Matthew Martin has claimed the 2017 BF Goodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship by the narrowest of margins; just two points separating Martin from runner-up Chris Browning after three hard-fought rounds.

Consistency was the key to the 2017 crown, both Martin and Browning bagging points at all rounds; the St George 399, the Tatts Finke Desert Race and the Rainbow Desert Enduro. While neither won a round outright, the pair finished all rounds up the pointy end, with a podium for Martin at St George (third) and for Browning at Rainbow (second).

The pair of prolite drivers finished the championship in front of third placed Greg Gartner in his Geiser Bros trophy truck, who stormed home with a win at the Rainbow Desert Enduro.

Browning’s team mate Chris Clarke took out the co-driver championship ahead of Jamie Jennings; Martin’s co-driver Kerri finished fifth after missing the opening round at St George.

Fourth in the championship went to Greg Campbell, flying the flag for the Superlite B class in his Can-Am Maverick X3 and rounding out the top five was the first of the pro buggies, driven by Travis Robinson. Robinson led the championship all year and held a 17 point buffer heading into the final round but ultimately, mechanical issues on day two of both the Finke and Rainbow events cost him the title.

Robinson and co-driver Trent Anthony were convincing winners however in the pro buggy class championship; in the prolite class championship, Browning and Clarke turned the tables on Matt and Kerri Martin, winning by 13 points.

The Super 1650 class championship went to Declan Cummins and his co-drivers Sam Phillips and Patrick Philp while Michael Mclean and John Stewart were able to hold onto their championship lead at the final round, taking out the extreme 2WD class in their first year of competition, ahead of Greg Gartner/Jamie Jennings and Beau Robinson/Shane Hutt.

Gary Taylor and Jamie Hacker put in a blinder at the final round to leap ahead of Dan and Tara Czislowski to claim the Superlite A class championship while Greg Campbell took out the very close Superlite B class; Michael Croasdale was the champion co-driver.

Paul Malt and co-drivers Michelle Malt and Rick Norris held only a one point lead in the extreme 4WD class championship heading into the final round; the trio claimed the class championship in the best possible way, Paul and Michelle winning the class at Rainbow.

And off road stalwart Geoff Pickering added an amazing 12th production 4WD class championship to his trophy cabinet; Dylan Watson was the class champion co-driver.

The AORC welcomed BFGoodrich on board in 2017 as naming rights sponsor for the next three years.

Commenting on the 2017 BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship, Tim Hoare, Marketing Manager for BFGoodrich Australia said “Firstly, I would like to congratulate all the competitors in this year’s Championship. BFGoodrich Australia is committed to supporting the local off-road racing community, as the national spectacle provides us a platform to demonstrate the performance and technological advantage inherent to every BFGoodrich tyre. It’s the energy and spirit of off-road competition that underlines what our brand is all about … pushing the limits and daring you to go further. Bring on 2018!”

BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Champions will be honoured at the CAMS Australian Motor Sport Awards evening in early 2018.

BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Champions – Driver & Co-driver
Matt Martin (#121) & Chris Clarke (#131)

Pro buggy Class Champions – Driver & Co-driver
Travis Robinson (#13) & Trent Anthony (#13)

Prolite buggy Class Champions – Driver & Co-driver
Chris Browning (#131) & Chris Clarke (#131)

Super 1650 Class Champions – Driver & Co-driver
Declan Cummins (#210) & Sam Phillips/Patrick Philp (#210)

Extreme 2WD Class champions – Driver & Co-driver
Michael Mclean (#489) & John Stewart (#489)

Sportslite Class Champion – Driver
Waylon Jaggard (#1077)

Superlite A Class Champions – Driver & Co-driver
Gary Taylor (#6674) & Jamie Hacker (#6674)

Superlite B Class Champions – Driver & Co-driver
Greg Campbell (#651) & Michael Croasdale (#650)

Production 4WD Class Champions – Driver & Co-driver
Geoff Pickering (#375) & Dylan Watson (#375)

Extreme 4WD Class Champions – Driver & Co-driver
Paul Malt (#855) & Michelle Malt/Rick Norris (#855)

Click here for 2017 BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship points.